CSWWC 2016 Trophies

Triumphant Louis Roederer chef de cave Jean-Babtiste Lécaillon with Tom Stevenson and Essi Avellan

Näyttökuva 2016-09-01 kello 10.10.42

It was Louis Roederer’s night with numerous Trophies at the CSWWC Awards Dinner in London last Thursday. The house’s Cristal Brut 2002 (Magnum) was named Supreme World Champion and Best French Sparkling Wine 2016. The Champagne House was also named Sparkling Wine Producer of the Year in front of 100 international winemakers, producers and guests at the historic Vintner’s Hall. Cellar Master Jean-Baptiste Lécaillon collected Roederer’s multiple trophies, making CSWWC founder Tom Stevenson keep his word and  ‘eat his hat’ as Roederer’s all 10 champagnes entered won Gold.


Champagne chefs de caves celebrating: Jean-Baptiste Lécaillon (Louis Roederer), Benoît Gouez (Moët & Chandon), Cyril Brun (Charles Heidsieck), Vincent Chaperon (oenologue, Dom Pérignon) and Frédéric Panaïotis (Ruinart)

A total of 15 Best in Class champagne winners were unveiled:

Näyttökuva 2016-09-01 kello 10.10.04

Best Champagne NV Rosé and Best Grower Champagne:
Barnaut Authentique NV Grand Cru Rosé 


CSWWC 2016-159

Barnaut was awarded the first ever Grower Champagne Trophy

Best Champagne Library Vintage:
Charles Heidsieck 1989 Brut Jeroboam 

Best Champagne NV Blend:
Charles Heidsieck NV Brut Réserve 

Best Low or No Dosage Champagne
Devaux Ultra D NV Aged 5 Years (Magnum)

Best Deluxe Champagne Library Vintage
Dom Pérignon Rosé 1995 P2 

CSWWC 2016-087

Vincent Chaperon received the Library Vintage Trophy from judge George Markus

Best Champagne Blanc de Noirs
Gremillet Blanc de Noirs NV 

Best Champagne (Regional Champion), Best Deluxe Champagne and Best Deluxe Champagne Blend
Louis Roederer 2002 Cristal Brut Millésime (Magnum)

Best Deluxe Champagne Rosé
Louis Roederer 2002 Cristal Brut Rosé Millésime (Magnum) 

Best Champagne Vintaged Blanc de Blancs
Louis Roederer 2010 Blanc de Blancs Brut Millésime

Best Champagne Vintaged Rosé
Louis Roederer 2010 Brut Rosé Millésime 

Best Champagne Future Release
Moët & Chandon 1998 Grand Vintage Collection

Best Single Vineyard Champagne
Pommery 2003 Les Clos Pompadour Mis en Caves 2003 (Magnum)

Best Champagne NV Blanc de Blancs
Ruinart NV Blanc de Blancs (Magnum)

CSWWC 2016-070

Chef de Cave Frédéric Panaïotis celebrates the success of Ruinart Blanc de Blancs NV

Best Deluxe Champagne Blanc de Blancs
Taittinger Comtes de Champagne 2006 Blanc de Blancs Brut

CSWWC 2016-144

Aaron Palmer of Hatch Mansfield received 2006 Comtes de Champagne’s Best in Class Trophy on behalf of Taittinger

Best Value Champagne and Best Supermarket Champagne
Waitrose 2005 Special Réserve Vintage Champagne 


The following champagnes were awarded World Champions by Style trophies:

World Champion Classic NV Brut Blend:
Charles Heidsieck NV Brut Réserve

CSWWC 2016-132

Charles Heidsieck’s chef de cave Cyril Brun and his victorious Best in Class Champagnes

World Champion Classic Brut Rosé:
Louis Roederer 2010 Brut Rosé Millésime

World Champion Classic Vintaged Brut Blend
Moët & Chandon 2006 Grand Vintage (Magnum)

World Champion Library Vintage trophy
Dom Pérignon Rosé 1995 P2

Furthermore the Chairman of the competition, Tom Stevenson, presented a special Chairman’s Trophy to Moët & Chandon’s new prestige cuvée MCIII NV.


CSWWC 2016-085

Chef de Cave Benoît Gouez receives Trophy for the inaugural release of MCIII

CSWWC 2016-187

Hugh Johnson handed the trophy for Best English Sparkling wine

CSWWC 2016-007

A champagne selfie by Jean-Baptiste Lécaillon and Benôit Gouez


Supreme World Champion Cristal 2002 magnum served by sommelier Aurelie Taheri


The guests savoured Dom Pérignon’s Library Trophy winning P2 Rosé 1995

CSWWC 2016-021

Chairman Tom Stevenson ‘eating his hat’

CSWWC 2016-302

David Cox expresses his gratitude for CSWWC sponsoring The Benevolent charity with samples

CSWWC results are published in Editor Neil Beckett's The World of Fine Wine magazine

CSWWC results are published in Editor Neil Beckett’s The World of Fine Wine magazine

The CSWWC is the most respected, comprehensive and rigorous international sparkling wine competition in the world, judged exclusively by renowned fizz experts Tom Stevenson, Essi Avellan MW and Dr Tony Jordan. The complete list of Trophies, Best in Class, Gold and Silver medal winners for 2016 is now available to view and will be published with full tasting notes and price categories for each wine in Tom Stevenson’s Champagne & Sparkling Wine Guide 2017 (due to be published in October 2016 and available via Amazon).

As essiavellan.com site is for champagne only, you can check the results for the rest of the world’s sparkling wines at www.champagnesparklingwwc.co.uk